Mini passionfruit & vanilla cronuts

Regardless of the many name variations that are now used to describe these (cronuts, doughsants, crodoughs, croissnuts…….) these croissant-doughtnut hybrids are amazing to eat.

A blast from my child-hood:

I had made versions of these decades ago when I first started trying to make croissant dough at home, starting by using the off-cuts and then using proper pieces of the dough to see “I wonder what would happen if….”

The name cronut that was coined by Dominque Ansell in recent years, is inspired. And as I am not making these commercially, I hope I can use the name cronut!

When I first made these as a boy I would fry the pastry as discs without the holes in the centre before rolling them in caster sugar. I had even made them by deep-frying the shaped croissants! And deep-frying always felt to be a wickedly fun thing to do, even with my mum’s careful supervision! But who knew that there would be a such market for them commercially nowadays………..although here in the UK I have yet to come across them (or variations thereof) in bakeries.

These are not to eat or make often, but what a stunning way to have a guilty calorie intake!

The cronut experience:

Very crisp on the outside, beautiful layering inside with a lovely buttery softness and that smell and flavour of a fresh doughnut. Not being a fan of icing on doughnuts, I dredged them with vanilla sugar instead. I filled some with passionfruit curd and left some unfilled: the curd cuts through the richness of the pastry beautifully.

Filled

I made these ones using half a batch of one quantity of croissant dough I had made a few weeks ago and had stored in the freezer: I often freeze half a batch of dough or pastry for saving time later, often rolled out (in which case I re-roll back up in clingfilm before freezing).

I made up small cronuts using a 4cm and a 1cm cutter. And not one to waste the precious croissant dough, the middle “cut-outs” get used for mini cronut scraps:

Un-filled centres
Un-filled centres of the middle circles

Recipe: mini passionfruit & vanilla cronuts

  • 1/2 batch of croissant dough (you can make a full batch and freeze the other half) – or use all-butter puff pastry
  • vanilla sugar (or standard caster sugar)
  • a couple of tablespoons of passionfruit curd

(1) Simply roll out the croissant dough to about 5mm or slightly more thick, and use two concentric circular cutters (although square works just fine!), dusting the cutters in flour after each cut to get sharp, clean cuts.

(2) Leave to prove for an hour or so until well risen and puffy.

(3) Chill for about half an hour (you get a better flake with chilling) before deep frying at 180C for a few minutes on each side until they have that wonderful deep golden colour.

(4) Drain on kitchen paper, toss them in the vanilla sugar and leave to cool. Make about 4 holes in the side or base of each cronut and pipe in some passionfruit curd. Alternatively, slice in half horizontally and spoon over the curd before sandwiching back together. If you want a firmer and more ganache-style filling, mix the curd with about 50g melted white chocolate and leave until it is slightly firmer before using.

Croughsants
Mini cronut(left); less mini cronut on the right! This time, sliced and filled

 

 

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.

4 thoughts on “Mini passionfruit & vanilla cronuts”

  1. I love everything about these! I think cronuts (or doughsants) need something sharp tasting to cut through the high-fat dough and passion fruit may just be the thing for it. Thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare

    Like

Comments are closed.