Quick & easy gluten-free sausage rolls

I have a great love of sausage rolls: as long as the pastry is light, crisp and buttery and, most crucially, the filling is generously packed with flavour then I am beyond happy!

It is goodies such as apple, cheese, and a touch of pickle that get added to the sausagemeat that turn this humble sausage roll into a thing of simple beauty: an approach I have done for many years when making sausage rolls.

For this gluten-free version, I have used my normal ramped-up filling for sausage rolls and I made a batch using a quick gluten-free (almost) rough-puff pastry. As ever, the aim was for the pastry to not taste of a “making do” substitute pastry or taste at all “chemical”, but a pastry that could hold its own quite happily: both flavour and texture-wise this pastry does that, I feel.

The batch took just under an hour from starting to make the pastry until the sausage rolls were taken out of the oven.

Pastry:

The pastry here was made up in about 15 minutes – far less than I would normally do for a laminated dough, but I wanted to limit this bake to about an hour. This pastry is very light, nicely flaky and, most importantly, it has an excellent buttery flavour. It rolls out well, especially after the first turn as the butter is starting to get incorporated.

 

The pastry is essentially an even quicker version of rough-puff pastry but with less butter (owing to the fact that for once I didn’t have enough!). I would typically give a pastry such as this more turns as well as time to chill in the fridge to firm up the butter more and for more layers, as in the picture above, but for a quick bake such as these sausage rolls I couldn’t be happier with the results.

Gluten-free “almost rough-puff” pastry:

  • 200g gluten-free flour, plus extra for rolling (I use Dove’s bread flour)
  • 150g unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • cold water to mix

(1) For the pastry, mix the flour and salt together. Add the butter and mix them gently in the flour to coat them. Add enough water to form a soft dough and turn onto a lightly floured surface.

(2) Roll out the pastry to a long rectangle (I just rolled it until it was quite thin without any measuring here). Fold the top third over the middle and the bottom piece over the middle, letter-style. Give it a quarter-turn and repeat a couple more times: the dough might feel as if it going to crack at the first turn but each subsequent turn will give a more workable dough. NB: ideally give the dough a few more turns for an even flakier pastry but three turns works very well here.

(3) Roll out, fill and bake as for sausage rolls. I like to sprinkle over a few poppy seeds with these but they are, of course, optional.

 

image

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.

6 thoughts on “Quick & easy gluten-free sausage rolls”

  1. I’m glad to read of your technique for gluten free flaky pastry because my housemate is a coeliac and I hope to make her things like this that she can’t have normally. I had success with a gluten free shortcuts pastry last winter for her but I never got round to putting it on my blog so now it’s lost until I make it again! I keep popping back since I first saw you featured in the Sainsburys magazine – you have some really interesting recipes =)

    Like

  2. Hi Philip, oh wow your sausage rolls look brilliant. You have achieved excellent results with the gluten free pastry.

    I had a look at your blog earlier in the week and I was absolutely impressed with your bakes. Thanks for following me too.

    Like

Comments are closed.