Product Review: Lakeland’s “My Kitchen 12-Cup loose-bottomed Mini Sandwich Tin”

Loose-bottomed, sturdy, vertical sides and minature: a wonderful idea, especially for other admirers of bakes that are smaller-scale. This tin has become one of my most-prized kitchen items.

How can I get so excited by a tin? Well, I just can!!!!!

A week rarely goes by when I am not using this tin – for mini cakes, layered desserts and mousses, trifles, brioche, as moulds for ice cream mould (especially for using in individual Baked Alaskas!).

I have even used them to house dough for small bread rolls……..

Mini Victoria Sandwiches

Not non-stick!

I have to confess that initially I was so annoyed with this tin when I first bought it: my mini cakes were a total disaster: they stuck to their holes and ripped apart. Not one came out intact!

The “2 layers quantum 2 non-stick coating” tag that appeared on the packaging had thrown me somewhat, so having seen the word “non-stick”, I didn’t butter the holes. Lesson learned!

However, when each hole is well greased (and to be fair, Lakeland now say on their website that they need to be greased) this is a stunning tin, giving beautifully smooth, uniform edges!

Some of my bakes using this tin:

The pictures below are of some of my bakes that have used this tin.

A few tips:

Grease the holes well. For cakes, I half-fill each hole with a Victoria Sandwich mixture to give a good depth of cake – or a little more filling for a “mushroom”-type, domed top effect. But the cakes are lovely either way.

Plastic acetate is a very useful thing to use with these tins for layered desserts, individual cheesecakes and the like, so they come out beautifully: cut the acetate into small rectangles that go just above the height of each hole, and wrap them snugly inside with a slight overlap. The holes then just need the gorgeous fillings piled in and the time to set in the fridge. The contents, plus acetate, then pop out easily and you peel away the  acetate. A double thickness of greaseproof works well in place of the acetate.

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.