Viennoiserie: lemon frangipane croissants & Amaretto cherry pains au chocolat.

I was eager to make another batch of croissant dough; two weeks or so since I made the last batch is a long time for me! The process of making croissants never fails to put a smile on my face from as soon as I weigh out the ingredients to when I get to taste them.

The full recipe for croissant dough is here and made the following:

  • almond & lemon frangipane croissants
  • cherry & Amaretto pains au chocolat

Recipe 1: almond & lemon frangipane croissants (makes about 20 small ones)

I made up a quick frangipane, into which the grated zest of a small lemon was mixed: I wanted a hint of sharpness coming through as normally I find almond croissants can be a touch too sweet and rich, and the lemon subtly cuts through the richness.

I love the way the frangipane goes squidgy as it bakes, especially at the base. It does give an intense almond flavour that runs through the buttery croissants, lifted by the hint of lemon. As these are smaller croissants I went for fewer “steps” than I would normally go for.

Frangipane:

  • 60g soft unsalted butter
  • 60g vanilla caster sugar
  • finely grated zest of a small lemon
  • 1 large egg
  • 35g plain flour
  • 60g ground almonds
  • 1 tablespoon Amaretto liqueur
  • 1 teaspoon best quality almond extract

(1) Simply mix the frangipane ingredients together in a small bowl and beat well for about a minute until very well incorporated: you will have a fairly thick, but spreadable paste. If it feels too thick, add a slash more Amaretto.

(2) Spread the frangipane over the rolled out dough and cut into triangles: for these smaller croissants I cut this portion of dough in half lengthways and cut out triangles with a base 8cm and height 12cm, giving me 20 small croissants, plus a few off-cuts.

(3) Stretch the point of each triangle and roll up with the tip underneath. Brush with egg-wash, cover and prove for a couple of hours.

(4) Sprinkle over some flaked almonds and bake them as for normal croissants, giving them about 20 minutes in the oven, covering them with greaseproof if the almonds are becoming too dark. When cool, dust with vanilla icing sugar.

 

Recipe 2: cherry & Amaretto pains au chocolat

I cut the other half of the rolled out dough into small rectangles and made these exactly as I did for cherry and Kirsch pains au chocolat, but instead I used dried cherries that had been steeped in Amaretto for a few weeks: Kirsch, Amaretto, rum…….whatever the cherries are soaked in, they taste amazing!

They were then proved for a couple of hours and baked for about 20 minutes.

Post submitted to YeastSpotting

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.

5 thoughts on “Viennoiserie: lemon frangipane croissants & Amaretto cherry pains au chocolat.”

  1. Woh! Looking at these treasures,i think i have died and went to heaven Philippe. 🙂 Superbe. a must bake. Loved the fillings too..

    Tried to get back after baking the Kouign Amanns but had problems to connect with the site. Perhaps have to join again. antway Trying again today.

    Well Philippe tried to bake with the fan and I think I should have tested my oven before as after placing the Kouign amanns in the oven they seemed to melt so fast and turned out melted like. So will give it a try again with perhaps 170C instead of 190C Will let you know. But I think don’t know why have a soft spot for the Tradition heat way.

    Loved your baking today. I just LOVE so much Viennoiserie Treasures like these.

    Kindest regards dear Philippe,you have a new fan that LOVES what is baking in your kitchen oven .

    Kindest regards

    Patricia Le 7 févr. 15 à 12:07, bakingfanatic a écrit :

    > >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Patricia for your very kind words. I hope the Kouigns Amanns work well in the oven at the different setting. Yes viennoiserie are always such treat, both to make and to eat, and always make any weekend that much more special.

      Like

      1. Thanking you Philip too. Well was a little happier withmy results. But i find that I have a lot of water,sugar,that leaks when leaving them. I cut them after rolling them into a sausage shape and leave them to proof for about 2 hours and i find when I do this they seem to foam up when being baked. The taste is always there but sometimes they look too hard and crispy. BUT like rollng them before cutting this way. I put them into a round mould. Once I tried using a large ring and all the butter melted and I had a baking tray like a swimming pool. I have used too with pleasure a recipe for Kouign Amann on you tube 750 Grs with Chef Regis. If you can have a look and enjoy too.

        Kindest regards

        Patricia

        Today I am looking for the first time Kouign amann with Kouign Amann Bernard.

        Kindest regards

        Patricia Le 7 févr. 15 à 20:30, bakingfanatic a écrit :

        > >

        Like

Comments are closed.