A summer wedding cake

 

A wedding cake I made for two dear friends from earlier this summer. It was such an honour to have been asked to make the wedding cake for this very special day.

The pictures in this post were taken were by their photographer, and also former colleague, David, who has his own wedding photography business Married to my camera.

The tiers:

Each tier is Victoria sponge, made with vanilla caster sugar and flavoured with lemon zest, with the top layer being gluten-free. The recipe I use for a Victoria sponge is on my main cake tips post here.

The filling:

The filling is vanilla buttercream rippled with passionfruit curd, for that fragrant sharpness cutting through the rich sweetness of the buttercream. A few fresh raspberries were scattered in between each layer of sponge.

The decorations:

Each tier was coated in the passionfruit buttercream with white chocolate scrolls around the side and fresh fruit on top.

Essentially, they wanted very similar to what I had made for my Civil Partnership cake a couple of years ago, which was very flattering as that was my (simple) design based on flavours that we both love and wanted representing. As an added bonus, the joy of summer is the abundance of great fruit; so this time I was delighted to be able to use fruit from the allotment to top the cake.

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.