Gooseberry chutney

This is my very simple recipe for gooseberry chutney made on this occasion with some frozen red gooseberries I had picked last year.

The chutney makes a great accompaniment to cold meats, cheese, smoked fish, to name just a few. It is sharp, buy with a nice level of sweetness. I also use it for my smoked mackerel pâté canapés.

This recipe

To be honest, I am really not a fan of gooseberries normally, but I couldn’t bring myself to get rid of the red gooseberry bush I inherited on the allotment. So several years ago I decided to boil up a few with some spices, sugar and vinegar to see what the resulting chutney would be like…..and hence my particular version of gooseberry chutney. Now each year when the gooseberries are ready to be picked I do make (and enjoy!) at least one batch.

I like a fairly soft set chutney here, but you can make it firmer by boiling for longer.

Recipe: gooseberry chutney (makes 2-3 jars)

  • approx. 500g gooseberries (red or green), topped and tailed
  • 300g granulated sugar
  • 1 large onion, chopped finely or blitzed in a food processor
  • 100ml cider vinegar
  • 1 rounded teaspoon ground ginger or a few inches of peeled and grated fresh ginger
  • 1 teaspoon salt

(1) Add all ingredients to a large pan and slowly bring to the boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar.

(2) Once boiled, turn the heat down and keep at a gentle simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the mixture becomes thicker, pulpy and the texture you prefer.

(3) Put into sterilised jars and seal. The chutney can be used immediately but keep in the fridge once opened.

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.

Leave a Reply

