Sous-vide pork tenderloin on a bed of creamed leeks & chorizo

A no-carb meal (for once!) and an excuse to put the sous-vide machine through its paces with a very simple meal, highlighting the joys of the wonderfully inexpensive pork tenderloin.

As it is a very lean meat, pork tenderloin is prone to drying out when it is cooking and can rapidly go from under-done to dry in moments. When cooked sous-vide, you are guaranteed a succulent piece of meat: hopefully you can see the succulence of the pork from the photos!

Sous-vide machines

I have always wanted a sous-vide machine but they used to be expensive for the typical home cook. However, they have now come down significantly in price, with several entry-level machines that are easily comparable to a decent food mixer price-wise and, for the serious foodie, “must-have”-wise!

I was very fortunate to have received one last year from my partner, and I cannot begin to tell you how over-the-moon I was! And even though mine is an entry-level machine (Andrew James Premium Sous-Vide Oven with Slow Cooker), it gives the most outstanding results.

I use my machine several times a week as a key part of my cooking: it is so simple to use, takes moments to set up and everying can be prepared ahead, only to be finished off when I am ready to eat. And there are no worries over precise timing: most things do not worry if they are left in the sous-vide half an hour or so longer.

And I have also used it a fair bit for my baking: for tempering chocolate (oh it is brilliant for this – and so easy) and poaching fruit ready to use in tarts (spiced pears anyone?), for instance.

A simple, effective marinade for pork tenderloin

I cut a piece of tenderloin into two pieces as one piece was too long to fit into a vacuum bag, and mixed with a little extra-virgin olive oil, crushed garlic, a little smoked paprika, a bay leaf, pepper and fresh rosemary. The pork and these added flavours were then vacuum-packed, thus sealing in those wonderful flavours.

The marinading and the sous-vide cooking can all be done ahead of time, with the pork left in the vacuum bags once it has been cooked: it then just needs to be finished off in a hot pan when you are just about ready to eat, which takes moments.

If chilling the pork once it has been cooked in the sous-vide, it is worth popping it back into the sous-vide machine to warm through before finishing it in the pan.

Cooking temperature and time

I cooked the pork at 56C for just over 2 and a half hours, which gave beautifully moist and tender fillets.

When I re-made this a few days later upon my partner’s insistence (and I needed no persuasion!), I left it in the water bath for almost 4 hours at this temperature, and still got the most succulent piece of pork!

Simple accompaniments

I went for creamed leeks as an accompaniement to the pork, along with a few carrots that had been roasting in a little garlic and thyme.

The leeks were sauteed in a little butter and seasoning along with some small chunks of chorizo, until they became soft. I then added a little English mustard and a few tablespoons of light crème fraîche. I added the pork juices from the vacuum-bags for extra flavour.

Finishing the sous-vide pork

To finish, I gave the pork fillets a sprinkling of sea salt and sauteed them in a hot frying pan along with a little oil and butter for about a minute, turning it to get the outside caramelised.

Author: Philip

Very much into baking and general cooking.

Leave a Reply

