Cocoa brownies with browned butter & walnuts

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For my second assignment with the Secret Recipe Club, I was allocated Erin’s wonderful The Spiffy Cookie blog from which to choose a recipe.

Erin has a magnificent blog; it is a great source of foodie inspiration and is packed with recipes you just want to make. And the name The Spiffy Cookie is wonderful.

Erin also has a great love of baking, and there are many baking recipes on her blog, so I felt immediately at home while browsing through and bookmarking: you know the way you are looking at one thing and then you get drawn to another, and before you know where you are you have so many tabs open………………!

Erin

Erin is wonderfully quirky, with an infectious love of food and a real interest in home crafts. Her fun personality comes across throughout her blog. I love how she will often plan a meal around her chosen dessert.

I also love how Erin lists her foodie likes and dislikes, crossing off dislikes once she has been “converted”, with the conversion undertandably taking place after trying the homemade versions.

A culinary challenge, though, is to convert Erin to the joys of pickles, for they can be such wonderful mouthfuls of delight…..granted, they can equally be quite quite horrid if badly made, but a great pickle is a truly wonderful thing. Erin, I am sure we can collectively suggest one or two pickles that you will try and fall immediately in love with…….The challenge is set 😀

This month’s SRC recipe choice

It was very hard to settle on one recipe when so many caught my eye, and I was so tempted that I made several of Erin’s recipes, which I mention later.

After much deliberation, and giving in to my chocolate addiction, I decided to go for cocoa brownies with browned butter and walnuts for this month’s SRC posting.

Squidgy, full-on chocolatey, with a lovely walnut vibe, these are truly indulgent treats. The brown butter adds such a depth of flavour, extra richness and, as Erin says, gives a real fudginess to proceedings. And the aroma as you open the oven….wow!

I didn’t get quite the sheen on my batch that Erin has on hers on her post, as I let the mixture cool a little before beating in the eggs, but I can live with that.

At first I thought that just using cocoa powder rather than chocolate would in some way diminish the chocolate kick that you need in a brownie, but how wrong I was! What you get is a real intense chocolate flavour.

I took most of these into school with me to share with colleagues and within about half an hour they had vanished from the staff room!

These brownies are perfect eaten just as they are with a cup of tea or coffee, but are great warmed up as the main part of a dessert, served with some ice cream or a tangy sorbet.

I also made a second batch for a friend who cannot eat gluten-free food, so I replaced the flour with gluten-free plain flour. They were just as indulgent – as a good gluten-free bake should be. And brownies in particular have to be indulgent – otherwise there is no point whatsoever in having them!

Brown butter – oh yes please!

While I have used brown butter in savoury sauces before, I had never used it in baking, but it works so well and these brownies reminded me of my fondness for brown or browned butter (beurre noisette), having not made it for ages.  So a big “thank you” to Erin for re-acquainting me with an old friend!

You get a lovely deep nutty and very rich flavour with brown butter that really has to be tasted to be believed. Thanks to Erin’s inspiration, I have since used brown butter in chocolate cakes, coffee cakes, a little beaten into buttercream and even in choux pastry!

Don’t get at all put off by making brown butter: it is very quick and easy to make. You can make it in advance and use it as you would normal butter in a bake, or re-melt for these brownies.

Top tip: once you have made the brown butter you can strain it through a fine sieve if you don’t want the darker bits, giving a clear liquid which has bags of flavour, or else keep the darker bits in there, to give a slighty more bitter note. Either works well, so it’s down to personal choice!

Other recipes from The Spiffy Cookie that need to be made

Well, why settle on making one recipe when you are tempted to make so many? And while I have bookmarked many more to make later, I did make several others from Erin’s blog, which I urge you to make:

Sourdough Cheddar & herb biscuits: I love savoury twists on sweet classics anyhow, and I hate to discard my sourdough starter, so these gorgeous savoury biscuits were right up my street!

Apricot honey scones: who doesn’t love scones? These ones are a lovely variation on a classic Afternoon Tea treat; I actually made 2 batches of these!

Broccoli & cauliflower quiche with hash brown crust: very simple to make and comfort food of the highest order.

Recipe: cocoa brownies with browned butter and walnuts – makes 16 pieces

NB: I have converted the recipe in Erin’s blog to UK measurements, and used a different sized baking tin owing to what I had to hand, but the ingredients are otherwise exactly as Erin has given.

  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 280g caster sugar
  • 100g unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon best quality vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs, chilled
  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 60g plain flour or gluten-free flour
  • 100g walnut pieces

(1) Preheat the oven to 160C (fan).

(2) Line a rectangular baking tin with foil or greaseproof, leaving an overhang. If using foil, coat it with nonstick spray. I used my normal brownie pan that is 28cm by 20cm by 3cm.

(3) Brown the butter: put the butter in medium saucepan over a medium heat and heat until it has melted. Bring to a gentle simmer, at which point the butter will start foaming, and simmer until the butter stops foaming and browned bits form at the bottom of pan, stirring often: this takes about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat.

(4) Add the sugar, cocoa, water, vanilla extract, water and salt. Stir to blend. You will have a thick, fairly grainy mixture, like dark brown wet sand, but trust it! Let it cool for 5 minutes.

(5) Add the eggs to the hot mixture, one at a time, beating vigorously to blend after each addition. Add the flour and stir until blended. Beat well. Stir in the nuts. Transfer to prepared tin and level off the surface.

(6) Bake the brownies for about 25 minutes, until a skewer or toothpick inserted into centre comes out almost clean (with a few moist crumbs attached). The top should have a nice crust and if you press gently you should feel the softness underneath.

(7) Cool in the pan. Lift the brownie from pan and cut.

Click on the blue frog below to see what others in the SRC have been cooking this month.

31 comments

  1. These brownies look amazing, and I totally agree with you about browned butter. So good. Love Erin’s blog!

    Like

    1. thank you Karen. Oh the browned butter is such a delight. Yes, Erin’s blog is fabulous isn’t it: was lovely to discover it through SRC.

      Like

  2. Squidgy! LOL!! What a wonderful idea to use browned butter. TY for sharing the recipe and for gorgeous photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you – yes the browned butter make such a difference here

      Like

  3. Great choice, I am part of the team who believes one cannot have too many brownie recipes. I have a friend from England who is the anti-brownie guy, and to be honest, I feel a bit sorry for him… what’s not to like? Particularly when they are squidgy! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree about brownies. They are things of great joy: the squidgier the better…..yes, I too feel sorry for anti-brownie folk 🙂

      Like

  4. Haha good luck converting me to like pickles! My boyfriend makes homemade versions all the time and I’m still not on board. While I love balsamic, I’m not a huge fan of vinegar flavoring. But anywho, so glad you made these and I’m going to have to adopt the word squidgy, I’;ve never heard it before!

    Like

    1. Ah now balsamic spiced pickled shallots….fabulous! Seriously!!……:)

      Thank you for the recipe: it makes the most marvellous brownies

      Like

  5. These looking so very moist and tasty! 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you Ronit. They are so addictive to eat: a great recipe to have discovered on Erin’s fabulous blog

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I also liked the use of brown butter. I use in cakes often and it adds so much flavor.
        Thanks for the introduction to her blog. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Brownies should be included in one of the main food groups, and the squidgier the better. I love the addition of browned butter in here. Great choice for SRC.

    Like

    1. thank you. Now here in the UK I do believe brownies are one of the main food groups. 🙂

      Like

  7. Erin has such a fun blog. It is no surprise you found these delicious brownies on her site. They look so good! Happy Reveal Day!

    Like

    1. yes I adored journeying around Erin’s blog: such a joy with every click

      Like

  8. Wowwww these looks amazing

    Like

    1. thank you

      Like

  9. I’ve heard so much about brown butter but have never tried using it so far. That has got to change soon. I love my brownies and these look yum. Love the picture of the stack of brownies 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you Trisha. Yes, the browned butter is a revelation to me in a bake such as this. So much so that it will be hard going back to using normal butter!!

      Like

  10. These look amazing! What a good choice for Secret Recipe Club. I’m always delighted too when I get someone who cooks exactly the type of things I like to make.

    Like

    1. thank you Corina. Yes, it is always an extra treat when that happens 🙂

      Like

  11. What an absolutely fabulous recipe Philip, and one that I would be happy to bake for a tea time treat – also I love your photos too, they represent the brownies perfectly, a great SRC choice. Karen

    Like

    1. Thank you. Yes these make an excellent teatime treat. And far too tempting to make again and again!

      Like

  12. Lovely brownies and I really want to try the brown butter idea now!

    Like

    1. Oh you really must: it is such a terrific ingredient in its own right

      Like

  13. I love browned butter but never thought of using it in baking. Wonderful recipe.

    Like

    1. Yes a truly fabulous ingredient in baking. I even made some croissants the other day using a fair bit of browned butter: makes such a difference

      Like

  14. shockinglydelicious · · Reply

    Squidgy….my new word crush! Absolutely GREAT SRC pick!

    Like

    1. Thank you. Oh I do love the word squidgy: it needs adopting into everyday vocabulary!

      Like

  15. motherwouldknow · · Reply

    Philip – Stop it with the gorgeous photos of brownies, please. I am writing this when I absolutely do not have time to head to the kitchen and bake, plus it’s broiling hot outside. Yet, as I read your description and stare at the photos …. Guess you can chalk up another success:)

    Like

    1. 😀 Thank you. I am glad it is not just me who miraculously finds time for browsing and baking and other fab things, when other things need doing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

Something Sweet Something Savoury

Family friendly recipes from a chaotic kitchen

Indian Curry Shack By Anugya

A Recipe Repertoire For Everyday Cooking

Foodfanatic

Good food, without fuss

Julie's Family Kitchen

A home for cooking and baking recipes

God's Little Acre Farm Blog

Sharing the little things in life, one blog at a time!

Food without fuss

Simple food, big on flavour!

The Recipe Hunter

Cook and Enjoy

My Baking Adventure

Going on an adventure or baking a new dessert - they both bring you joy and fill you with happiness

Splash of Happiness

Splashing happiness in your day

the chef mimi blog

So Much Food. So Little Time.

It's All Frosting...

Projects, recipes, and other things that make life fun!

Come dine with Teo

Because eating is a necessity, but savouring is a pleasure.

joannas sydney

An insider's guide to Sydney, Australia

ten.times.tea

food books (?) pretentious writing etc

biscuits and pieces

Food, lifestyle and everything in between

Journey of a Blogvelist

The Writing of Curtis Bausse

Stefan's Gourmet Blog

Cooking, food, wine

dulceideabloguea

el blog de dulceidea

This is not a pie

Young baker from Brighton presents her recipes

Bakers and Best

Baking the Michigan Difference into every loaf.

Charlotte's Web of Bakes

The outcomes of an experimental (albeit amateur) baking enthusiast!

TASTECELEBRATION

All about the passion for food

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Eat The Roses

Highly Opinionated Thoughts About Food, The Universe and Everything

I Dream in Buttercream

Cloud9.1's Baking Blog

Le Céleste Pâtisserie

Professional Chef Recipes and knowledge source for patisserie, baking and pastry

vannillarock

baking adventures on both sides of 'the pond'

Knead to Dough

the go-to site for your foodie blog and biz resources

Love Grace and Cakes

Sitting here in a pile of flour and icing sugar, drinking wine

Wuthering Bites

Simple Gluten Free recipes for any time of day.

The Baking Hermit

Hobby baker who enjoys learning about the science and techniques behind making the perfect baked goods that taste and look good.

Blissfully Scrumptious

Blissfully scrumptious recipes for cakes and bakes

フレピュアはアマゾンと楽天NG←啓発サイト

Baking from the heart...with a pinch of guilt-free indulgence!

Natascha's Palace

A blog about culinary adventures from a Canadian living in Spain

KitchenSpells

Cook. Bake. Eat.

lili's cakes

Pâtisserie Sans Frontières

Addicted to the Sweet Life

Two uni students exploring Melbourne's food destinations

joseybakerbread

share the loaves

apuginthekitchen

good food with simple ingredients

food for fun

enjoying what's on my plate

Clandestine Cake Club

Bake, Eat, Talk about Cake

Every Nook & Cranny

...is simply filled with food

Preheat the Oven

with Chef Jae

